He’s Feeling 92

At work, I told the kids that today was special because it was my Grandpa John’s birthday. When they asked how old he was, I replied “92.”

One child said, “Ohhh that’s a lot of birthdays.”
Another asked, “How?”
Most just kind of looked at me because at the age of 2 or 3, the number 92 is a bit out of their realm of understanding.

Even at 22, I found myself slightly baffled looking at my grandpa tonight. More so than that, I felt grateful to be able to sit next to him and visit with my aunt and uncle and eat a good Southern meal and watch my 92 year old grandpa blow out his candles.

FullSizeRender
12.12.14
Uncle Jon
, “You drink almond milk and that’s why you’ve lived to 92.”

Uncle Jon, “Did you hear what Cheri said?”
Pop John, “Nope.”

 

It wasn’t a big, fancy dinner, and it was over by 8:30; but it was a night I’ll always remember.

Leave a Reply

