Steph vs. Writer’s Block

IT HAS BEEN WAY TOO LONG SINCE I’VE WRITTEN HERE.

In the past, a blog absence like this usually meant bad, bad things. Happily I can report this dry spell is a simple combination of intense writer’s block and this crazy thing called having a life with responsibilities (something I haven’t done in a very long time). In addition to school, I recently started working part time at a daycare center. It confirmed in me that I’m meant to be a teacher and made me more certain than ever that I am not meant to be teaching elementary school.

My Creative Writing class is also taking a toll on me. I’ll be honest, I wanted an easy class to ease back into school. As usual, when I think I have something figured out, I’m wrong. Not that it hasn’t helped my writing, but I feel as if all my creative energy goes into the class, and I’m drained afterwards. I’ve taken blow-off classes before (i.e. Interpersonal Relationships), and Creative Writing at community college isn’t one of them.

And then there’s this guy who’s been taking up a lot of my time. Who knew relationships could be equal parts rewarding and work? Good thing we share a sweet tooth and sense of humor.
FullSizeRender

11.17.14
Sean King, “If you’re trying to take embarrassing pictures of me good luck because I’m very photogenic.”

I wish I could snap my fingers or take a pill and suddenly have all this creative energy. But I pulled off the bandaid and made a start. We’ll see what happens tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

