One Flew East, One Flew West

First off, Happy Memorial Day to all the men and women who serve this country. Despite any personal beliefs I have regarding war and violence, I have the utmost respect for those in the military and what they do everyday.

Secondly, I have no quote of the day. The world hasn’t ceased to be funny, but lately my mind focused too much on the non-funny things that chances for laughter just passed me by. Tired of wallowing, I decided last week to just throw myself into the pages of books, into words. I’m on my third book, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey.

IMG_2569     The movie adaption came out in 1975, starring a very young Jack Nicholson. If        you haven’t seen the movie, I highly recommend you do. Regardless of whether or not you’ve seen the movie, I highly recommend reading the book.

It isn’t exactly comical but one particular line stuck out to me that I thought I’d share with the rest of the Internet:

“I think that maybe he truly is something extraordinary. He’s what he is, that’s it. Maybe that makes him strong enough, being what he is.”

Since I was a child, I’ve been switching on and off different masks like I was putting on a play for the rest of the world. At one point, it made me feel invincible. But it doesn’t anymore; it just makes me tired.

The solution seems pretty clear now. Maybe it is enough to just be me–whoever that may be. Maybe that’s where I’ll find my strength,  and if I just put my masks away forever, maybe I’ll be something extraordinary.

 

 

Leave a Reply

