My Favorite Ex

The summer between 6th and 7th grade my parents uprooted the family from Gladestone to Parkville. “Uprooting” might be a bit of an over-exaggeration except at the time, I was on the cusp of the horrifyingly awkward age of 13. If I had to a pick a year to never repeat, that would probably be the one. So, I had some trouble adjusting. Unfortunately, while they have grown up to be some pretty amazing young women, I didn’t really maintain my childhood friendships.

My point about all this being that today I ate lunch with, who I now realize is, my oldest friend. We met in the 8th grade and clicked instantly. At first, I mistook our friendship for potential young love so we dated briefly. But once that mess got sorted out, he became  one of my best friends.

He’s known me from the not-as-horrifyingly-awkward-but-pretty-close age of 14. Now here we are, getting ready to turn 21. How crazy and how much we have changed since we met, yet still that bond remains.

       5.20.136453_138140182834_5044245_n
        Matt Smith, “Yeah, the twiggy was a never a good look for me.”

We’ve had some great times in the last seven years, I can’t wait to see what the rest of our lives  hold.
Love you Mattie. You are my long term relationship, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

61005_469080507834_849497_n

Leave a Reply

